The Art of Choosing Ink

Today’s Daily Prompt asks, “Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?” 

Towards the end of my teenage years, I dreamed of getting a tattoo. I wanted to pick the perfect design. It had to be just right. It should signify something about my deeper personality, and represent who I really thought I was.

Those are lofty expectations and I sort of paralyzed myself into inaction. I’m sure my mother was secretly relieved.

It wasn’t until I was almost 28 and leaving Ireland to return to Canada that I carelessly chose a tattoo at the last moment. I wanted something permanent to carry with me forever from Ireland.

But strangely, I didn’t choose anything remotely Irish.

I chose the four Japanese symbols which together – allegedly – mean “protector.” I had them tattooed, very small, at the top of my back, centred on my spine. I thought it was smart, a sort of play on the “watch your back” idea.

I’m told that if you look at it quickly it looks a bit like a bar code, which wasn’t really the look I was going for, but the tattoo artist did have slightly shaky hands. Probably the first sign that you’re in the wrong studio, but there weren’t a lot of choices in rural Ireland.

The thing about tattoos, I’ve noticed, is that they become addictive. Once you have one, and realize that the pain is short-lived, you begin to look for a design for the next one soon after.

I had my second one done in Ottawa. I desperately wanted a tattoo and so was scouring books and the internet, looking (again) for the right one, the one that would signify something important about me.

I was in a card and paper shop and came across an ex libris sticker which was decorated with a little ink drawing of a fairy sitting cross-legged on a knoll, its back turned to show its wings, and holding a large book across its lap, its head bent reading. I had the fairy placed halfway down my spine, centred under the first tattoo.

For a time, I had second thoughts about the selection. But I’ve come to appreciate it now as something that does reflect my personality.

My third tattoo I got in honour of my son who was, at the time, four months old. It is an aquamarine blue star, about an inch wide and bordered with a navy line, placed on the inside of my left wrist. I always called my son my little star and thought that when I returned to work after maternity leave, it would be nice to have something to remind me of my first months of motherhood.

My fourth and final tattoo represents the four elements. It is a four-pointed star, with each point a distinct section and a separate colour; pale blue for East, red for South, mauve for West and forest green for North. The sections meet at the centre, where there is a small line drawn in a circle, and another circle runs behind their points, about a quarter of the way down. This last tattoo is at the base of my spine.

Sometimes, I think I would like to get another. I had once thought I would like to scatter the constellations across my back and I’ve always wanted to copy a Moorish design from an old market or temple.

It’s strange, though. Most of the time I forget that I have any tattoos, mostly because they are placed out of my line of sight, but also because I just don’t seem the type of person that would have any. At least, I don’t think I do. I have a respectable job, for which I dress respectably with my tattoos hidden away, and a pretty straight-laced lifestyle. To look at me, you wouldn’t think I would have four of them.

But I like my tattoos, when I think about them. They bring back fond memories and, now that I consider them, I realize they do achieve all those lofty expectations I had hoped they would. They reflect who I am and who I have been, my past and present interests, and the most sacred and constant aspects of my personality.

 

More thoughts on tattoos:

  1. Try it | Photos to inspire you
  2. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Tattoos | Kate Murray
  4. Port Cullis | alienorajt
  5. What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat
  6. Family & Faith | Active Army Wife
  7. My Ink, My Story | Finale to an Entrance
  8. Tattoo… You? | Relax
  9. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | A Mixed Bag
  10. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Awl and Scribe
  11. My First Tattoo | Steve Boer Photography
  12. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Olivia May Photography
  13. Should you Tattoo? | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  14. Permenant | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  15. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…..You? | Steve Says….
  16. Tattoos, A big No-No | A mom’s blog
  17. The Accidental Tattoo | A Buick in the Land of Lexus
  18. INK can’t Hide me ! | Dreams to Reality !
  19. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | timzauto…. in search of the blond haired kid
  20. Daily Prompt:Tatto…..You? | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. Tattoo — You? | Flowers and Breezes
  22. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Daily Prompt: Proudly Inked | One Starving Activist
  24. A tattoo! Or two…or three… | wordsandotherthings
  25. Tattoo. | Bullet holes in the wall
  26. Tattoo… Me! | Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  27. Body and Soul: of mundane miracles and secular sacraments | Muddy River Muse
  28. Tattoos….You? That is the question. | Kansa Muse
  29. Tatted Up! | meanderedwanderings
  30. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Everyday Adventures
  31. Who Needs a Tattoo? I’ve Got A Blog!
  32. Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak
  33. Kissing the sky. | Inside of love
  34. To Be Continued… | Charron’s Chatter
  35. The tattoo that I have, and the ones I want | And I write
  36. Tattoos | Mountains or Molehills
  37. Daily Prompt: Tattoo’s the Diverse Art | Bowl of Rice
  38. Ink’d | A Room of One’s Own
  39. A Mark For Life | annezheng
  40. On Tattoos | Not the Family Business!
  41. Tattoo? – One Day | My Play Nook
  42. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Basically Beyond Basic
  43. How and Why I Decided To Get Inked | noinpart
  44. Skin Deep | All work and quite a lot of play
  45. Tattoo….You? | The Nameless One
  46. Permanent ink. | Simple Heart Girl
  47. DAILY PROMPT: TATTOO — ME! PHOENIX RISING! | SERENDIPITY
  48. Tattooed Memories… | Haiku By Ku
  49. Daily Prompt: Love Never Lasting | Morrighan’s Muse
  50. The Lover’s Kiss | unaware but underlined
  51. Impermanence | vic briggs
  52. The Boob Report – Tits for Tats | Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride
  53. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? | Poetry
  54. Tattoo….You? | Trina’s North Germany
  55. Get your tattoo here | tjbarkerseattle
  56. My Forest | unaware but underlined
  57. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Red Herrings
  58. Tattoo | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  59. To Tattoo or Not to Tattoo?…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  60. Sword – The Tatoo | Thoughts
  61. My Tattoo Changed My Life | Notes by Natalie
  62. Permanent PROOF | unaware but underlined
  63. Daily Prompt: Tattoo……You? | Sorrowful Decay
  64. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…. You? | SIM | ANTICS
  65. Tattoos. Body Art or Body Damage? | Mr. Johnson’s Blog
  66. Tattoo or not tattoo? | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  67. Mince and tatties | Land of Dope and Tories
  68. 1.12 Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  69. Tattoo…You? | My Conscious Self
  70. Daily Prompt: Tattoo You? | BulgingButtons
  71. Tons Of Little Tattoos, BIG Meanings | unaware but underlined
  72. Time for a – Tattoo? Who? Me? | Words ‘n Pics
  73. You Have a Tattoo? « disappearinginplainsight
  74. Daily Prompt – Tattoo…You? | The Wittering Wallflower
  75. Daily Prompt: Tattoo You | An almanac for concerned citizens and boysenberry jam fans
  76. Permanent | The Magic Black Book
  77. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You | Off The Beaten Path (Being Silly in the City)
  78. If I Chose Tattoes | mycookinglifebypatty
  79. Gilded Warrior
  80. Daily Post: Tattoo | Mac’s Blog
  81. Tattoo! | MissEmilyMarie23
  82. Never | Life is great
  83. Prompt: Tattoo | E aos 30…
  84. Why the random posts | Jarime’s Blog
  85. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | jane sleeps here
  86. Daily Prompt : Tattoo …. Me? | LoudThoughtsVoicedOut
  87. Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? It’s in the Stars. | Mommy Problems
  88. An Unfading Commitment | .:Lani’s Summer in Rain
  89. Inked Up: Passion, not Profession | Blagoevgrad Narrates
  90. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | White Girl In A Dupatta
  91. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?, Or: Blank Skin, Too Many Choices! | polymathically
  92. The Permanent To-Do-List | Holoholo Girls
  93. Daily Prompt: Taurus Tattoo
  94. “The Daily Prompt | Tattoo…You”, Or Rosie has a change of opinion on the subject of ink | Rosie Writes…
  95. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | GG’s World
  96. Inked. | FadingSunlight
  97. Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | The Blogging Path
  98. Imprinted. | kazenomachihe

14 thoughts on “The Art of Choosing Ink

  1. Can you share pictures of your tattoo? The one with four elements sounds pretty neat.

    I have a tattoo myself, and am itching to get at least three more 🙂 Once you start with a tattoo, you end up with more than one.

    While workplaces are more accepting towards tattoos these days, there is still a lot of stigma attached to it. Which is sad

  2. I could have written this post — or one very similar with a slight detour here or there to make it truly mine. I didn’t get my tattoo in Ireland, but the Lower East Side of NYC. And I too carefully chose the symbol (representative of where I was in my life then) and strategically selected the location. And I too forget from time to time that it is there. And I too for sometime felt addicted to getting them. But I never did get a second or a third, though I did contemplate it. I think, perhaps, it may be time to do so.

    • Ah, I missed our synchronicity while I was away from blogging. But, do I want to be responsible for inciting you to get another? 🙂 If you feel like sharing, I’d love to know what yours is.

        • You may just be my long lost twin. I had considered a butterfly when I was younger, in a brilliant blue to commemorate a book my mom used to read to me, The Lion and Blue, but expressly didn’t get it because someone – Drew Barrymore I think – beat me to it.

  3. Don’t have a tattoo myself as I have a real fear of needles, but If I were brave enough it would probably be a Chinese symbol…… and then I would probably want to change it ! maybe temp. tattoos are for me ! Hubby has a few but they are all ‘bike’ related.

  4. I have a few, some bad choices I’ve had to cover.. my last cover I just recently had done.. it took me years to decide what I wanted because I didn’t want to make another error in judgement.. ahh youth and impulses, lol.. this time I chose a tribal hare and moon because it means something to me. I find them to be quite addictive 😉

  5. When I thought about this prompt, my first thought was the Celtic Tree of Life; but, I decided to go with my children’s birthstone colors on the inside of my wrist. Of course, I don’t actually have tattoos. I am afraid of needles 🙂 I like that you have tattoos, but it is something nobody would expect of you. Interesting, in a cool way.

Leave a comment