Teachers

Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! What makes a teacher great?

Teaching is one of the noblest professions. Teachers influence and shape the minds of future generations. But they are grossly underpaid, especially when you consider the money made by gangsta rappers and drugged up athletes.

Teachers are role models for countless kids who may not have good role models in other parts of their lives. A good teacher and the lessons they impart will be remembered throughout life, just as a bad teacher will.

My son loves his teacher. He has him now for a second year, which is part of what the school aims to do – they use grade splits so that the same group of kids will spend two years together and with the same teacher. It is working really well and my son declares, without exaggeration, that his teacher is the best teacher ever.

What makes a good teacher, I ask him.

This is the list of criteria he gives me, in order:

Strict
Kind
Patient
Respectful
Firm
Doesn’t yell
Listens
Friendly
You can talk to them
A parent as well, so they know how to deal with kids

I think that’s a pretty good summary of the qualities one would want in a teacher. And a teacher is more than just a person kids leant from at school – they are coaches, instructors, camp counsellors, after school programmers.

Parents are also teachers, as are grandparents and other family members. And there are people in my life still who fall outside these definitions but who continue to teach me many valuable things about myself and the world.

A love of learning is likely to be bolstered by a good teacher. I see my son’s favourite teacher having this effect on my son and I hope that he will carry this experience with him and will want to continue to learn throughout his whole life. I believe it opens the mind to so many possibilities.

Already he is a huge reader, and that goes a long way to fostering a respect and interest in lifelong learning. I’m glad that we, as other teachers in his life, have held fast to our principles and have not indulged him in video games or TV. We have neither at home, though we do allow him to watch TV and movies online and to play the odd game on the computer or in the arcade. We just don’t make screens part of his daily life. It is a hard rule to follow at times, but so rewarding when you see the results.

My personality does not naturally lend itself to teaching. I find it hard to explain concepts, especially verbally, and I find the patience necessary to be a good teacher rather elusive. To my son’s list above, I would add the qualities of consistency and even-handedness. As my husband will attest, I find it hard to be consistent. I see its value in teaching (and that term in this case includes parenting) but it’s a struggle for me. My emotions get tangled up in my interactions with my son. And, yes, that may be natural as I am his mother, but for a while in my early twenties, I thought I’d like to be a teacher and I had the same difficulties in the classroom then that I have at home with my son now.

A teacher must be able to emotionally remove themselves from the situation so that if a child is upset at being disciplined, the teacher doesn’t relent out of guilt nor allow their anger to get the better of them. That speaks to the qualities of both consistency and even-handedness.

I’m afraid I struggle with both. I either feel guilty or I raise my voice in frustration.

But where I may lack in these areas, I believe I make up in others. I am reliable as a mother, always there and ready to ensure my son makes it to activities, events, birthday parties. I am kind and caring, supportive and empathetic. I am friendly and he knows he can bring his problems to me. And as much as I can’t explain things very well, I can teach him by example.

I have taken him geocaching, kayaking, biking, hiking. I write and read all the time, which has helped him to develop an interest in these as well. I have taught him about caring for the environment, something he has taken on as a cause of his own. And I am very proud to have taught him from the beginning to consider all people based on who they are inside, to see beyond religion, appearance, nationality and beliefs.

Overall, the teachers in life are like a network, or a net, ready support, catch and lift you up.

Further thoughts on teachers:

  1. The Boy Who Had No Ears | Godrick Gnomish
  2. Daily Prompt: Greatness | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  3. To Mrs. Gray, one great teacher « RPMAS
  4. S. Thomas Summers | I, As Your Teacher…
  5. ••Check-Mate!!•• | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  6. A Daily Prompt Poem: Greatness « Vicariously Poetic
  7. Duncan the Sushi Roll #13 | Neva Samaki
  8. Happy Teacher’s Day | મન ની વાત
  9. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! « Mama Bear Musings
  10. Becoming A Great Teacher Is Like Pulling Teeth | The Jittery Goat
  11. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! – GREATNESS | SERENDIPITY
  12. A great teacher | Sue’s Trifles
  13. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | A Mixed Bag
  14. Daily Prompts: We can be taught | Lux
  15. My Teachers | Kate Murray
  16. We Can Be Taught! | The Nameless One
  17. “Greatness” | Relax
  18. Daily Prompt: We can be taught! | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  19. what a teacher shouldn’t be | like a fleeting wind…
  20. A Role Model To Follow | Flowers and Breezes
  21. My Real-Life Feeny(s) | Inkbelle
  22. We Can Be Taught! | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  23. Daily Prompt: Greatness – US Naval Aircraft Carriers in World War II | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War Story
  24. Grace is a Teacher | A Teacher’s Blog from Land’s End
  25. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  26. Dr. Emmett “Doc” Brown: We can be taught! | lifebeinggirly
  27. Dearest Teachers… | Imagineer @ Work
  28. I Can Learn | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  29. Inspiration and Education! | alienorajt
  30. Daily Prompt: Great Teachers/Staying in Focus: Passion Plays a Part | Staying in Focus
  31. Perfect Teacher. | ayimas
  32. The One with the Monk | Jackie Cangro
  33. We Can Be Taught, Most You Should Do Is Try! | amateurxpress
  34. Daily Prompt; We Can Be Taught | terry1954
  35. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | BulgingButtons
  36. This one’s mine, get your own! | Take your Chances; Make it Happen
  37. Oh Captain, My Captain! | meanderedwanderings
  38. Dr.Sheppard, Thank You For Teaching Me About Philosophy | KeepItDeen
  39. Greatness | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  40. Still, In Motion | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  41. Daily Observations
  42. Why I Believe Teachers are the Backbone of Civilization | wdbwp
  43. One Starving Activist
  44. Show and Tell | CurTales
  45. What makes a teacher great; an experiment… | Perhaps yes, perhaps no. Exactly? I don’t know.
  46. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | The Blogging Path
  47. Strutting My Stuff… | Haiku By Ku
  48. Can Greatness Be Taught?: Mulan Case Study | Musical Chairs
  49. Weekly photo challenge crochet patterns | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog
  50. To Be a Teacher | Nerdy Woman
  51. Because I’m Brilliant | JC Bride ~
  52. The Giant Electronic Frog With Pink Lips. Alan’s Story. | Janey Macken Street!
  53. What Makes a Teacher? | loveletterstoaghost
  54. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | The Laughing Nanny
  55. Daily Post: the elements which make a great teacher… | storyofmylife1993
  56. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! 21|9 | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  57. Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught! | Life is great
  58. A great teacher | Rock it classy
  59. At home | From Five to Fifty
  60. The UNCATEGORISED | the DAILY PROMPT: GREATNESS | the TRASH BASH
  61. reciprocation | Her Broken Nibs
  62. Daily Prompt Challenge – We Can Be Taught | soletusknow
  63. Your Teacher Heart | Wiley’s Wisdom

8 thoughts on “Teachers

  1. Truth is that mother’s are the greatest teacher and you are one because you imbibe value in your son through your actions. It is far better then just sermonizing.

Leave a comment