I’m Sorry I Was Busy

Daily PromptTell us about a time when you should have helped someone… but didn’t.

I had hoped to use this prompt to weave a story. I began several, in fact, one or two of which I may continue later. But there was one true story from my life that kept rising to the surface of my consciousness, wanting to be told. And so here it is, the clearest example I have of a time I should have helped someone but chose not to.

I was 14, I think, when my grandfather died. My favourite person in the world. My champion. We were very close as he retired about the time that I was born and we consequently spent a lot of quality time together. He gamely played along with whatever my imagination cooked up: friends, pets, stories of intricate make-believe. And he spoiled me outrageously; his were always the best presents, plucked from beyond my wildest dreams.

We laughed together all the time. His blue eyes sparkled and his smile and his hugs made everything right in the world.

When I was older and struggling with the tween and then early teen years, we often spoke on the phone. He was a sympathetic listener, encouraging and supportive, though he would also tell me when he thought I had done wrong. A perfect recipe for cultivating respect and devotion.

I remember the day we found out that he was ill. I was heartbroken, not least because I had for years gone to bed each night silently hoping and wishing that my family would all live forever, terrified that they may not.

But, as hard as it is for me to admit, there was a day I was not there for him. I was too busy.

Yes, I was a kid and kids are selfish and self-absorbed. And scared of the deep unfathomable aspects of life, such as illness and death. But I am not willing to accept that as an excuse.

I remember we were talking on the phone that morning and he asked me if I would be coming out with my mother to visit later. He wanted to see me. I hesitated, then told him I was supposed to be going to see a friend. I recall apologizing and he said not to worry, that he knew I had things to do, that I had to live my own life. It was easy to grab at that forgiveness to quench my guilt.

Easy at the time, maybe, but I have never really fogiven myself for denying him the simplest, most basic help that he could have asked of me.

Sure I had plans, and perhaps I lacked the maturity to put off what my selfish 14-year-old heart wanted to do. But it wasn’t just about being too busy. I was scared. Scared to see him ill, to see him not as I remembered him.

And so, I went to the park with a friend, or over to their house, or whatever it was I was so busy doing. Ironically, I don’t remember what I actually did in the end. But I didn’t go and see my grandfather.

And now I wish I had.

I know, many would pat me on the back and say encouraging, consoling things, telling me not to worry, not to torture myself with guilt, assuring me that he would, and did understand, that he wouldn’t want me to feel bad all these years later. I would say that if a friend came to me with the same confession.

But, the fact remains that I am sorry that I was too busy that day and that I denied him his one request – to spend time with his beloved granddaughter.

Fellow bloggers’ posts:
  1. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy – De Nile | DCMontreal
  2. Daily Prompt: Denial « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. S. Thomas Summers | Deny, Deny, Deny
  5. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m too busy to help | storyofmylife1993
  6. Morrissey, Damien Dempsey and Men’s Liberation Day. | Janey Macken Street!
  7. the UNCATEGORISED | Daily Prompt: in denial about SUNDAYS | the TRASH BASH
  8. Am I really that unhelpful? | Rob’s Surf Report
  9. Naked Betrayal: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  10. Fancy doing my homework? | Neva Samaki
  11. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m busy. | thecommonmap
  12. Daily Prompt: Sorry, Mummy’s Busy | littlegirlstory
  13. Sometimes Helping Is Not Helping | The Jittery Goat
  14. Denial: Daily Prompt | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  15. Just a few seconds « RPMAS
  16. The “Sorry…I’m Busy” Excuse | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  17. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy « Mama Bear Musings
  18. To Help or Not to Help? That is (seriously) the Question. | Imagineer @ Work
  19. Waiting For the Light to Turn Green | Not a Punk Rocker
  20. It is not always wanted… | Hope* the happy hugger
  21. Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. What The Flock? | Just Visiting This Planet
  23. Sorry, I’m Busy: This is What I’ve Been Doing | Khana’s Web
  24. Deal with it, Move on, Now go help. | Romelga writes
  25. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m busy | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  26. Denial | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  27. Sorry, I’m Busy Grooming | Anchors Aweigh
  28. Making Denial Imaginary | The Magic Black Book
  29. Sorry, I can’t help | Sue’s Trifles
  30. ‘Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m busy’ – here goes nothing … | Perhaps yes, perhaps no. Exactly? I don’t know.
  31. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path
  32. The Lurker’s List | When Sorry Is Just A Word
  33. Sorry, I’m busy | crookedeyebrows
  34. Denial | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  35. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  36. Until when I’ll say ‘Sorry, I’m busy’? | 3rdculturechildren
  37. Denial | Flowers and Breezes
  38. Last Conversation | Life is a Vacation
  39. What if I wasn’t a helpful guy? | Okay, what if ?
  40. Running ̊Son – Poems collection pt. 14 | The RunningFather Blog
  41. in the sorry aisle | y
  42. Sorry, I’m Busy | The Nameless One
  43. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | Steve Says….
  44. Sorry, I’m Busy | Testing the Strength I Have
  45. World’s Laziest Editor : Sorry, I’m Busy | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  46. I’m not busy I’m scared | Life is great
  47. Sunday (Long) Runday Funday! (Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy.. running faster than you) | Running with Reality
  48. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | Ramblingsofahomeschoolmomma
  49. Denial | Better Than Reality
  50. Peep into my paper and hell shall befall upon you! (Mind you, I have a black tongue) | Expressions
  51. New Yorker’s Denial. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | Seize the Planet
  52. Stacks of Denial | loveletterstoaghost
  53. Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | My Atheist Blog
  54. Mental Facepalm in Aisle 3 | NobsLyfe

6 thoughts on “I’m Sorry I Was Busy

  1. Oh, this makes me so sad. Not that you didn’t go see him, that you remember the day and are troubled by it and wrote about it. Please forgive yourself.

  2. I imagine your grandfather would wish you not to feel guilty because I’m sure he understood that you and others in his family felt that same fear. He may also have known that he and only he must deal with his illness on his own. But one thing that you gave him was an eternity of warm, loving memories.

Leave a comment