Bears, Teddy and Otherwise

IMG_1217

Daily PromptWhat was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

As a child, I had a number of beautiful, handcrafted wooden toys that I loved to play with. I fondly remember a rotary-style red telephone with a little bell that would ding when I hung up the earpiece. I had a caterpillar that was made of balls of wood and rope and metal that would wobble as I pulled it along behind me. There was a wooden dog on orange plastic wheels that did the same. And countless rattles – a wooden handle with coloured wooden balls swinging by short ropes from its top, a red wooden cube with a little silver bell rolling around inside it. The list goes on.

Most of these I still have with me. My son played with them and, now that he is older, they are housed in a box in the basement. Memories, possibly toys for future generations.

But I recall my most treasured toys were my collection of stuffed teddy bears. I was an only child and they were my companions. I used to proudly count them. I think I remember their numbers swelling to about 20 at one point.

My mother still has many of them, and I have two.

One is Growly Bear, a very realistic black bear, whose stuffing seems to have been squeezed a bit thin.

The other is Little Teddy, a small, beige Merrythought bear with a bell in one ear. My Great Aunt gave him to me when I was born and he was my constant companion through much of my early years. My son has now claimed him as his favourite “stuffy.” I’m touched that of all the stuffies he has, Little Teddy is his favourite.

He has no hair left. I don’t actually remember what he looked like with hair. I think by the time I was 3, he was completely bald.

His ears are lopsided – I recall my mother sewing one back on while we were on holiday somewhere down south. I may have been 5.

His stuffing is almost non-existent. His nose is wearing thin and I’ve darned it. It’s amazing he still has his eyes.

The question of the day is, do I see a connection between my life now and my favourite childhood toy?

Not in a concrete sense, no, although perhaps yes as far as remaining consistent and constant in my interests.

But I was just thinking this morning about the repeated appearance of bears of late in the art that grabs my attention, in my dreams and in my writing.

I’m not sure why this is.

Wikipedia posits that, “With their tremendous physical presence and charisma, [bears] play a prominent role in the arts, mythology and other cultural aspects of various human societies.”

This is perhaps why bears are everywhere – as popular children’s toys, in famous stories such as Winnie the Pooh and Goldilocks, the source of names of towns and sports teams across the world, and in connection to what is perhaps the most prominent constellation in the sky.

It is also perhaps why bears have been revered, worshipped and feared throughout human history. According to Wikipedia, bear worship is a religious practice found in many North American and North Eurasian ethnic circumpolar regions and may have been practiced as far back as the Middle paleolithic period amongst Neanderthal societies. Bears bones have been found in caves and are featured as carved totems throughout many northern cultures. Often, they were believed to be earthly manifestations of a tribe or clan’s ancestors.

There are also a number of Celtic deities associated with the bear and the bear was the symbol of King Arthur.

It makes sense that the cultures that came in contact with the majestic and terrifying animals as part of their daily life in the wilderness would see them in a mystical and respectful light, just as they deified other terrifying yet beautiful aspects of nature around them.

But what is it about the bear that draws me, albeit somewhat unconsciously?

I believe it is in part its sheer strength and its protective nature. But it is more than this. There is something special in the intriguing duality of the figure of a bear. It is able to be, on the one hand, that strong and terrifying  creature that has awed man for millennia and, on the other, so loving and furry and cute that its image has been made into a universally cherished child’s toy.

Fellow bloggers’ thoughts on childhood mementoes:

  1. A Toy | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. I HAVE A DREAM, A DIGITAL DREAM! (Not to sould like MLK Jr. up in here, but we need one.) | Lord Aoshi’s Latest Finds
  3. Toy Story | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. (Lost) Toy Story | The Ambitious Drifter
  5. My first boyfriend. | Crossroads
  6. Chip Hazard | Sogna Grandezza
  7. A Horse is a Horse, of course, of course | Conversations
  8. Toy Story- Barbie | mcpw
  9. Daily Prompt: Toy Story – My littlegirltoy | littlegirlstory
  10. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. Memento | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  12. Dhingali Maari Hala | મન ની વાત
  13. Green words | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  14. Cops and Robbers | MC’s Whispers
  15. Adorned With Skinned Knees | sayanything
  16. Dad, Me, And A Toy Jeep | The Jittery Goat
  17. Daily Prompt Repost: Toy Story; Simba’s Praise Song | Virginia the Viruliferous
  18. A Toy | Puggle | Ellen Gregory
  19. Daily Prompt: Toy Story « Mama Bear Musings
  20. Toys!! | mostlytrueramblings
  21. Playthings | Tony’s Texts
  22. Days gone by | Life & Times
  23. Life Is My Chew Toy | Eve Livingston, Ph.D.
  24. Prompt: Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages | Wise Counsel
  25. more like wannabebarbie | wannabepoet
  26. Should have been a cowboy. « RPMAS
  27. The Curious Case of Curious George | meanderedwanderings
  28. Moving with a grr and whoosh | crookedeyebrows
  29. Daily Prompt: Memento | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  30. Daily Prompt; Toy Story | terry1954
  31. Toys In the Attic | A Good One
  32. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Toy Story | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  34. The Little Green Bag | An Upturned Soul
  35. Purple Bear… | Haiku By Ku
  36. TOYS ARE FOR BOYS | Dear Yolandi
  37. kevindeisher
  38. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Not The Sword But The Pen
  39. I named her “Anne” | Hope* the happy hugger
  40. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | reyoflight
  41. Memento | Flowers and Breezes
  42. “Memento” | Relax
  43. SOVIET UNION: COMMIE TOYS FOR COMMIE KIDS | Standing Ovation, Seated
  44. Daily Prompt: Best Friend | One Starving Activist
  45. Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob’s Surf Report
  46. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Vagabond
  47. Stalking cuddly pandas | We Live In A Flat
  48. Where is Wally Wobbles? | Pink Bubbly
  49. It’s Doggie Playtime | Anchors Aweigh
  50. Hush, Hush Close Your Eyes…. | Daily Observations
  51. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Photos and writings
  52. Toy Story: As told by the girl who destroyed all her toys… | Testing the Strength I Have
  53. Is that weird? | EditMoi
  54. Toy Story | The Nameless One
  55. Rocking Chair! | amateurxpress
  56. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Morrighan’s Muse
  57. A Floppy-Necked Giraffe | On Gorgeousness
  58. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  59. Truly outrageous | The Wicked Belle
  60. My doll house | A mom’s blog
  61. Daily Prompt | Toy Story : Sylvanian Families | Between Screens
  62. Daily Post – My Favourite Toy… | awritersfountain
  63. My parachute jumper- I am not! | tornin2’s Blog
  64. Daily Prompt: Toy Story- Sea Snark | Capt Jills Journeys
  65. not the fish … but sardines | Her Broken Nibs
  66. Daily Prompt : Toy Story | Valley Girl Gone Country
  67. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Steve Says….
  68. The Flying Superhero Clothes Horse Himself: Horsetrepreneur, Howie B. | Janey Macken Street!
  69. Playing House | In Harmony
  70. Work or Play | Cowgirl Up!
  71. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Toy Story
  72. 毎日の刺激:「Toy Story」 | ~★天体の世界★~
  73. Daily Prompt:Toy Story | Cockyflop
  74. Legos WERE my childhood | djgarcia94
  75. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Along Life’s Road
  76. 9. Mementos | The Obsessed List
  77. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Let There be Peace on Earth
  78. Suicide no. 11: Toy | derekalanwilkinson

14 thoughts on “Bears, Teddy and Otherwise

    • I just headed over to your post and it did make me laugh. You know, I used to rip the heads off my Barbies too, and use them as catapult fodder against Castle Greyskull. And I enjoyed playing with guns. You’re right, the toys don’t necessarily say something about us.

  1. To tell u the truth I never had a Teddy when I was young but purchased one when my son was young and perhaps I played more then my young son who is now in his late teens ……….. Thank You for bringing back memories

    • That’s great! It’s ok to play with teddy bears, or any toys, as an adult. Why not enjoy the childlike wonder of life? I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you for dropping by.

  2. Great post.. I didn’t realise bears were worshipped so much. You’ve maybe gone some way to explain my love of teddies 🙂 I could never get rid of mine.

  3. Wonderful shared memories and interesting info. as well. Your post made me smile at the thought of some of my treasured bears, as well as the mention of the pull-along caterpillar toy. I had one of those too! Lol ….

  4. Hi Silverleaf,
    I enjoyed your bear story, I never really thought about that connection between the teddy bear and all the others. Thats a good point you made.
    Thanks for reading my story on my sea snark and the ‘pingback’ (what the heck is that anyway and how do you do it???)

    • Glad you enjoyed it and happy to be able to give you new ideas about teddy bears!
      A pingback is a link to another blogger’s post, usually one that relates to your post. It’s a neat way to make connections between different people’s posts, and between different people more generally. It’s easiest to do it from the daily prompt – you just copy and past from their list of linked posts below the prompt. Once you master that, you can also just insert a link by clicking on the “add media” button in the “new post” screen.
      Hope that helps!

Leave a comment