1. Thoughts of a night

The scent of Lilacs and fresh leaves reaches in through the window, bringing with it the coolness of star kissed midnight. I am alone in some ways, drifting already between reality and dream, between you and home and somewhere else. Life, possibilities, are just beyond my fingertips, just beyond the window frame, out where blossoms mingle with air, with sky and ozone and the otherness that is always beyond our four walls – any four walls. I lie here, silent, and contemplate timing, considering not if but when I will lift myself up, go into the night and embrace all that is out there.

4 thoughts on “1. Thoughts of a night

  1. Lilacs, yum! I love your long, beautiful, dreamy sentences. The last is my favorite, especially how it ties back to the line about things being just beyond your fingertips–I can feel the languor.

  2. So lovely. This, most of all: “…with sky and ozone and the otherness that is always beyond our four walls – any four walls. “

Leave a Reply

