Words inflamed

I want to write again from the heart
to sing the songs within
ignore the calls and walls that hem in our dances
entranced, withdraw into my soul
and with words inflamed by visions
tell of what is there
I will not chase praise, approval
no longer slave to the tide,
I want to turn around and ride it
I want to tell of the roaring in my ears,
the wonders I see through the veil
to rise up with the mountains
and greet the moon
drink down the rain
and embrace the many seconds
of this word-drenched existence

6 thoughts on “Words inflamed

  1. I love the sounds in this–what you do with rhyme gives this such exuberance. Some of my favorite lines:

    ignore the calls and walls that hem in our dances

    no longer slave to the tide,

    drink down the rain

Leave a Reply

