The anatomy of decision

What’s new is old.

I’ve been here before.

My head swirls and
time bends around me
as doubts ebb and flow
but always I come back
back to the angel’s face,
always I come back
back to the heart (breakable)
and I realize
the decision was made
before I even made it.
A shadow brought it to me in the night,
packaged–not neatly–but packaged nonetheless.
And I opened it.
Now all there is left to do
is to ride out the tide
and see where it leaves me.

One thought on “The anatomy of decision

  1. Love, love, love this. The annunciation overtones, the repetition that reinforces that opening idea, the tension between peace/uncertainty, control/flow.

Leave a Reply

