Magic Carpet Dreams

In daydreams light, carefree,
my childhood gardens wait
fern-laced with petal clouds
and sun-bronzed butterflies.
.
By watry shores I pause
where Sunday families stroll,
the golden sun-flecked air
of memories in reach.
 .
Here fairytales were spun
‘mid broken trees and gorse
the crimson cardinals sang
and ivy strung up walls.
 .
Do butterflies still light
‘pon families who stroll
while cardinal songs ring out
behind tumble-down dreams?
 .
These stories of past lives
I plumb; the scents, the sounds
of forty years, to wisk
me ‘cross the shadowed breach.
 .
 .

11 thoughts on “Magic Carpet Dreams

  1. Your “childhood gardens” are beautiful! I especially love “fern-laced with petal clouds” and “ivy strung up walls.”
    Is it your birthday? Have a happy!

    • Oh, thank you Jenn. I think the ivy line may be my favourite too 🙂 And, yes, almost – my birthday is on Sunday. 40 has me doing all the requisite milestone-marking and reminiscing. Thank you for the kind wishes 🙂

  2. Oh, this is lovely, Silver. The stanzas move and pause –each lit with wistfulness–echoing life. Clearly, a childhood filled with beauty. My favorite:

    Here fairytales were spun
    ‘mid broken trees and gorse
    the crimson cardinals sang
    and ivy strung up walls.

    I now know what gorse is!

    I will tell you that 40 was one of my favorite birthdays. Lots of reflection, yes, but also looking forward. Hugs and love to you.

Leave a Reply

