Catching Dreams

Dreams cling to the edges of my mind,
unclear spectres
they shift the colours of my emotions
throwing shadows across my thoughts.
I can’t pin them down,
can’t see them or hear them,
but I can feel them
deep inside,
their long, bony fingers
scraping across my heart and mind
all the way from last night
into the middle of today,
into this very moment.
I’m desperate in my curiosity
but when I try to recall,
to recognize shapes,
they slip further under the cloak of forgotten memories,
fingers trailing backwards across darkened earth,
back to where they hide.
As I give up and go about my day,
they begin to emerge once again —
a glimmering of colours on the periphery.
I know if I look, they will hide again
and so I dance around them all day,
trying to see without looking,
trying to feel my way back into the memory of them.
Perhaps tonight they will take me back,
however fleetingly,
into their clutches.

5 thoughts on “Catching Dreams

  1. Nice! These lines really jumped out at me: “bony fingers/scraping across my heart and mind,”
    “and so I dance around them all day,/trying to see without looking,/trying to feel my way back into the memory of them.”

Leave a Reply

