When the day is done (I will miss)

When the day is done,
I will miss:

Time;
my time,
all mine.

Contemplation,
reflection,
musing without purpose.

Writing, for me
and for you.

Breathing;
breath moving slowly,
deeply.

Restful, measured days
stretching on infinitely before me.

Freedom;
taking a walk
when the feeling strikes.

The garden
transforming with the seasons,
the changing light
moving with the hour,
watching the trees sway
for as long as I want
or need to.

My flip-flop rainbow.

When the day is done,
I will miss
not having to do
or be
or say
anything.

And I will miss
being able to do
or be
or say
anything I want.

I will miss the me
that is me now
here
in this moment,
the me I have become,
not the me that I was then.

I will miss
being home with my family.

I will miss
being home.

I will miss
just being.

But life is not a practice run
and all I have learned
I learned for something more,
and when the day is done,
tomorrow will be waiting
and I will bring
everything that has brought me here
forward.

 

Inspired by Ray Bradbury’s noun list.

8 thoughts on “When the day is done (I will miss)

Leave a Reply

