If By Sea

Today, I return with my family to another of my favourite places in the world. It’s a small community – a gathering of just a few houses – on the Maine coast. We’ll be there for two weeks.

It is a peaceful place, just sand, sea and sky.

The small cottage is the quintessential writer’s cottage, with a view of the sea no matter which way you look.

There is poetry at every angle, in the light, the shadows and in the open foreverness of the view.

I wrote a lot while I was there last year. It was really the start – or, rather re-start – of my writing.

And I began this blog shortly after returning home.

I look forward to sitting with my coffee, staring endlessly at the sea, walking the beach in the early morning fog, and capturing whatever lines flit across my thoughts.

It will be a perfect (if early) celebration of the Silver Leaf Journal’s anniversary.

And on that note, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you all for being part of this wonderful, fulfilling year!

6 thoughts on “If By Sea

  1. SL so glad you are in Maine! Sorry I missed this a few days ago, with work now I have been having to binge on WP just a day or 2 a week rather than each morning. Hope you have an idyllic time ๐Ÿ™‚ And Happy Anniversary! I’m so glad to have been able to get to know you through your writing, and now beyond…..and look forward to reading about the trip and reading your thoughts into year 2!

    • Lovely to hear from you! I thought of you as we drove through part of Vermont. I figured you must be busy with work though I also have been poor at keeping up with WP – something about school being out again ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you are surviving the work-home divide.

      • you went through VT?? If you do again on the way back let me know! Depending on where you are and what we are doing, maybe we can cross paths ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Yes we just went through the north, though. We will be leaving early Saturday morning next week and possibly stopping at the King Arthur bakery on our way. Not sure if that’s a definite or if it’s planable though…would I ever love to see you!

Leave a Reply

