You

Sometimes I wish
I could get all of you
Into the same room;
My far flung friends,
My friends there and there and there –
Even you, there, down the street –
So I could introduce you
To each other;
I’m sure you’d all get on well.
So I could see you all
At once,
So I could hear you laughing
Together,
So I could tell you to your faces
Just how much you mean to me.
So I could experience this bursting heart feeling
With you
Instead of standing here
On my own,
In this quite small
Silent room
Thinking thoughts of you
That you may never know.

5 thoughts on “You

    • I’m so glad to have been able to do that. Just the right kind of comment for those times when I wonder if things are worth posting! Thank you.

  1. I tend to avoid those rooms where people get together. I try to avoid conversation because you always get the person who does not laugh at your jokes and then whispers an inside joke. I do not like people because their front is usually different than their behind.
    Two faced people are the norm and not the unusual.

    • I’m so sorry to hear you have had such an unfortunate experience of people. In this poem, I was speaking about specific friends (some of whom I’ve met through the blog world) who are in all different countries but who mean the world to me. I think they would all get along with each other, too. And, happily, I am confident that these particular people would laugh at my jokes and are not two-faced at all 🙂

      • I like your comment. But remember a blog covers some people with a facade which may not be true. Just be careful. Read my blog story on the hitchhiker which really happened to me and you will see that putting yourself out can put you in an awkward position.

Leave a Reply

