Wishful Thinking

saferoutesbloomington.org

I just saw Charlie’s Mom!

She was saying hi to all these other people in the crowd. Abby and a teacher and someone who I think is a dad.

I recognized her; she’s been in our class lots. And she looks like Charlie.

I started to say “hi,” but I sort of stopped smiling because at first she looked past me. Like she didn’t know who I was.

I thought she’d recognize me but I don’t know.

She went with the grade 3’s to their swimming but I’m in grade 4 so I didn’t go so maybe she doesn’t remember me.

She said “hi” finally, at the last second, as she passed me. Her face kind of changed as she said it. Maybe she figured out who I was then, maybe she remembered just as she said “hi.”

I wonder if she’s going to let Charlie come this weekend.

I want him to, ’cause it’s going to be a boring trip otherwise. All that driving, all that long way, with just my baby brother bawling and my parents talking about whatever parents talk about.

It would be fun to have Charlie come with us. He’s funny. He makes the class laugh. Sometimes we get in trouble for laughing.

He’s nice, too, which is good.

Maybe we could play Lego or Pokemon or something in the back seat. I could bring some Lego and he could bring some and we could trade.

Or cars. He has lots of Hot Wheels I think. Because he left some in his desk when he went away for weeks and weeks with his family and some of the class snuck in and took them and played with them but then the teacher made us put them back. I don’t think Charlie knows.  Maybe I’ll tell him on the trip.

It’s going to be along trip. My parents said it’s a 4 hour drive, all the way to some mountains in the States. Across the border and everything! I think the name of the mountains starts with an “X”. Or there’s an “X” in the name somewhere. I don’t remember. But it’s not the kind of place you have to fly to. It’s not 4 hours on a plane, just 4 hours in a car.

I hope Charlie can come with us.

There he is! I’m going to go ask him.

“Charlie! What did your Mom say? Can you come with us this weekend?”

11 thoughts on “Wishful Thinking

  1. […] Easter Ellen The Wandering Poet Daily prompt – Mind reader – Gym troll Fictions in Flashes Unexpected Cup (Daily Prompt) RANDOM!!! Mind Reader Perspectives on life, universe and everything And… Perspectives on life, universe and everything Diligence charlottesville winter Produce All Things Cute and Beautiful Being Thoughtful! The WordPress C(h)ronicle Mind Reader Mama Bear Musings The Mind Reader The Jittery Goat Look At Me, The Skeptic The Silver Leaf Journal Wishful Thinking […]

  2. […] Minds I do not have to read: The Wandering Poet Daily prompt – Mind reader – Gym troll Fictions in Flashes Unexpected Cup (Daily Prompt) RANDOM!!! Mind Reader Perspectives on life, universe and everything And… Perspectives on life, universe and everything Diligence charlottesville winter Produce All Things Cute and Beautiful Being Thoughtful! The WordPress C(h)ronicle Mind Reader Mama Bear Musings The Mind Reader The Jittery Goat Look At Me, The Skeptic The Silver Leaf Journal Wishful Thinking […]

Leave a Reply

