Blogging 201: Goal-setting

It may not have been such a good idea to sign up for a 2 week blogging challenge that coincides with my last two weeks in South Africa.

I thought I would be a captive audience, sitting each morning on the sunny patio, finishing my coffee, surrounded by mountains and waving palms.

But of course being my last two weeks, I suddenly have a whole lot of things I want to do – and I will be travelling towards the end of it all.

I will do my best, though, and I will do as many of the tasks as I can.

So with that caveat out of the way, task one of the Blogging 201 Challenge involves goal-setting.

My initial thought was that I don’t like setting goals. I don’t want goals. That’s work, and this is writing. My writing. My fun.

But as I thought and wrote about it, I realized I do have goals, they’re just undefined – subconscious.

Maybe I should think about them.

I definitely don’t have any stats-related goals. I’m humbled to have any followers at all and I love interacting with them. I often wish I had more time to do so.

I’m equally more than happy with the number of likes and comments I receive on my posts.

I would like to better understand how others view my blog – why my followers are interested in what I write. Is it the stories? The poetry? My thoughts on life? A combination of all three?

I’d also like to seek feedback on my writing – constructive criticism as well as the positive thoughts. As long a it’s honest. Because I know I can improve, I’m just not sure where I should focus initially.

Finally, I’d like to find a way to lead readers to my older pieces. A way that works for me.

Well, there we have it. Three goals. A good start.

There is also the goal I set at the beginning of 2014: to publish something this year. I’ve waffled back and forth on that one but as it would probably be a collection of my poems and/or short stories from this blog, I thought it worth mentioning here. And I’m open to feedback on that, too!

Ok, I’m ready for day 2’s task now. Happy blogging everyone!

2 thoughts on “Blogging 201: Goal-setting

  1. So glad to hear you are having a great trip. I have missed seeing your posts and writing and look forward to hearing about your new challenge and goals!

  2. i read your blog because i feel as if i have come to know you as a person. i think we read blogs for different reasons, but i know that for me personally, i return time and again to the blogs whose writers resonate with me personally. 2nd runner up are the blogs with content related to my hobbies like archaeology or antiques or collectibles or time travel (i think i should stop there before i geek out too much)

Leave a Reply

