Simply Irresistible

Daily Prompt (November 26, 2013): Tell us about the favorite dish or food that you simply cannot turn down.

I have always been moved by food. Well, by the taste of it. We are all, of course,  technically moved by it.

But there have been times I have enjoyed whatever I am eating so much that I have closed my eyes, blocked out everyone around me, and allowed myself to be completely engulfed in the flavour.

People either find this amusing or highly offensive.

But if something really tastes that good, I want to savour it.

So, when I discovered a year ago that I could no longer eat many of my favourite foods, I was horrified…no, saddened, actually.

In the past, the one thing I always found simply irresistible was goat’s cheese. If it was on a menu, I was guaranteed to order that dish.

My favourite kind of goat’s cheese was Grey Owl and whenever I went to visit my mother, she would try to have some sitting in her fridge for me. We would take it out to eat after a nice dinner, passing it around with sliced baguette or crackers.

I didn’t bother with the bread stuff usually. I went straight for the cheese, eating it with fork and spoon (I’m not a total animal!). And no matter how much I had eaten during the preceding course(s), I would often-I’m somewhat ashamed to admit now-polish off more than half of the sizeable piece of cheese that would once have been sitting on the serving plate.

Ah, glorious cheese.

When my husband and I travelled to France a few years ago, I ate so much of it that the inside of my mouth was swollen for the two weeks we were there. I guess I should have known then that I had a problem.

My gluttony isn’t reserved solely for cheese. I’ve also, once, eaten a full pound of bacon in one sitting, but that’s another story and, in my defence, I was pregnant.

So what do I eat now in place of cheese?

First of all, nothing replaces cheese. And I do try a bit every now and then but it makes me so sick that it takes me another 6 months before I can trick myself into believing that maybe this time it will be different.

I find I eat an awful lot of nut butter now, and I crave meat more often than I ever have before. So I guess that’s my body asking for the protein it would have consumed via cheese in the past.

I also eat more fruit. If I’m really trying to make up for my lost love, I eat figs and blood oranges and pomegranates drizzled in the sweet tahini sauce from this recipe on My New Roots.

My New Roots is one of my two go-to sites if I need a perfect recipe (that fits with my dietary restrictions) for just about anything. The other is Chocolate Covered Katie.

Which brings me to the only things that come close to rivalling my once overpowering addiction to cheese: dark chocolate, red wine and coffee. I was always partial to them, but they are now front and centre in the comfort eating department. To be really effective, they have to be made with high quality ingredients, taken in small amounts, and savoured.

I love a really good cup of americano – at home, we drink J.J. Bean’s JJ Espresso – or a glass of Bordeaux with a few squares of Green & Black’s or Chelsea Truffles’ dark chocolate. I also like to make hot chocolate with a good, rich chocolate powder, hot water, sugar, vanilla and a cinnamon stick. No dairy, no substitutes. It’s thick and rich, like coffee, and perfect on a cold day.

Simply irresistible.

4 thoughts on “Simply Irresistible

  1. oh my gosh, I knew we were alike…I have to say, all of those are my faves as well: cheese, dark chocolate, red wine, and coffee (Peet’s is my fave). Living in Vermont, we have artisan cheese-makers all around us, amazing cheeses are out at every farmer’s market, every country store….I would rather have a little bit of those than go near anything like “light” cheese…can’t believe stores even sell such a thing! I too seem to be in the midst of a change, where dairy may be an issue, so I need to watch those quantities as well…bah! I also get Choc. Covered Katie! But need to check out My New Roots..thanks for the tip!

    • Blech – light cheese.
      I’d love to sit down with you over coffee, chocolate, wine, cheese and books. We’d have fun and agree on pretty much everything I think!!

    • Thank you that’s very kind of you, especially considering the cheese cravings I’ve given you 🙂
      I have been nominated in the past for this one but these days I never quite get around to doing everything that an award requires. I am very grateful for the nod and the appreciation.

Leave a Reply

