NaNoWriMo: Day 6

It’s funny sitting in my little isolated Microsoft Word world, writing away, day after day.

I’ve become so used to posting almost everything I write that it is a strange sensation to keep everything to myself. It’s also strange to watch Daily Prompts floating past, without responding to them. Most of them I’ve filed away for blogging inspiration at a later date. I see them and I think “wow, I want to do that one!” but then I file it and forget about it. I’ll get back to the really good ones in 24 days or so.

I can’t believe it’s already day 6 – and I also can’t believe it’s only day 6! I have settled down into my old blogging routine now, only as I said, I don’t post anything. The two or so hours I would have spent blogging I now write my story. And it’s coming along quite nicely. I’m somewhere around 18,000, which is sufficiently ahead of the game that some of the pressure is off now; I only need to write around 1300 words per day instead of almost 1700.

With that kind of pressure gone, I really feel I will be able to hit 50,000 words by November 30. I will probably go past that number. I am, however, starting to wonder whether I will actually finish the story by that date. If not, it’s probably not a big deal, but I don’t want to get that far and then leave it, unfinished, in my virtual desk.

While I feel a bit cut off from all of you (well, not really, I have been commenting and replying on lots of posts, but I feel cut off as far as my own writing goes), there is something nice about writing in a vacuum. It’s a bit like going old-school on the whole writing experience. All I need now is a deserted lakeside cottage, a typewriter and a bottle of scotch. Or something.

It’s also a nice feeling to keep returning to the same story, day after day. There is a consistency to it that I enjoy. I had read something like that in one of the pre-November NaNoWriMo posts about how great the process is. And it’s true.

I wonder if I would feel the same way if I was actually writing fiction? I wonder if I would have as much to say or if I would feel the same impetus to just keep going. I guess I’ll have to find out next year.

I hope all of you out there writing away for NaNoWriMo or NaBloPoMo or for yourself are having fun!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 6

  1. This is so great–the feeling you describe about the consistency with writing, and finally feeling like you are onto something. And 18000 words, that’s amazing! Maybe you can even take a day off here and there….or is that a no-no in the rules? 🙂

    • Oh I can take a day off but I’m kind of on a roll 🙂 But I can totally take a break. Today would have been a good day, actually, as we spontaneously took off to Toronto to visit my mom – but I actually typed on my lap on and off the whole way!

Leave a Reply

