NaNoWriMo: Day 1

Day one of writing my first novel – or whatever it may turn out to be.

Aiming to have 1600 words or so a day, but not really caring if I do or not, I began this experiment with 1948 words. A good start but there will, I’m sure, be slower days.

I feel I have much to say but I’m not sure if I’m saying it. When I explain my life in Ireland, people seem to think it an engaging story, but for once I’m finding that writing seems harder than talking about it.

I’ve heard that the idea is just to write and not think about editing or fixing. There is already something freeing about the thought of just writing and writing, day after day. I took my laptop to a coffee shop today and found it easier to write there, surrounded by people and activity, than in the silence of my home.

But there is also something exhausting about that much writing. After almost 2000 words, I was bursting with other ideas, ideas for blog posts not for the novel, but my brain was just so drained.

So far, I am more wedded to my blog than an as yet non-existent and short lived book, and I miss the luxury of writing multiple posts about multiple topics, or poetry even! But 30 days isn’t long and I’m sure I will still manage to post something almost daily. I can’t help myself.

But this seems to be my post for today. Just an update. I did warn you that I’d be off writing a novel!

See you tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 1

  1. So proud of you, and you will be proud of yourself too after taking this challenge and seeing your story down in words. It sounds like the story has been living up in your mind for a long time and needs to get out–this is so perfect for you. Don’t worry, we’ll be here to read whatever you can muster for your blog!

  2. Congrats on the NaNoWriMo beginnings. 🙂
    I too have taken it on – and you know, I think *maybe* the approach is to just write – worry about the editing/revising/tweaking later. I know, easier said than done, but I’m sure we’ll be able to make it through. It’s about the process, I think – having considered it for years, but never felt I was worthy enough of the attempt.

    As for the daily blogging – jot things down – for later – outlines – phrases – ideas – whatever – for when you do have the energy and time. As for your followers, we’ll still be here, waiting 🙂

  3. I think the key is to just keep writing and writing and writing and ignore the word count until later in the day. If you find you’re below the 1667 per-day needed to finish by the 30th, then kick it into hyper-drive, hah! This is my third NaNo participation, the first two I failed after about 5 days. Plot lost, story crumbling, motivation depleted. This year I’m already above 7000 words (and haven’t even written today, Day 3, yet!) and I think it’s due to, in large part, all the planning I put into before hand. I essentially plotted out the whole novel with bullet-note plot points. Maybe this will help you, too! Good luck and I look forward to your updates!

    • Thank you! I find so far the hardest thing is to ignore all the distractions. It’s easier on weekdays when the house is empty, or I go out to the local coffee shop and just write, but on weekends there’s always someone who needs something! Still, I’ve written a bit every day and did in the middle of it all plan things out a bit as you’ve suggested, so hopefully I’ll at least make it past day 5!

Leave a Reply

