Taking the Writing Challenge Concept to a Whole Other Level

So I did it.

I bit the bullet and signed up.

I hate being backed into something, though. I hate feeling like I’m trapped. Like I now have to actually do it. No way out.

So I’m not going to look at it that way.

Nope. I’m going to just see how it goes. I’ve just signed up so that I have the option to do it. No pressure.

So says one side of my brain. Or the little angel on my shoulder. Or whoever it is.

The other voice, the one in the black shroud with the little glowing red horns, is suggesting that I could just give up, not do it, not bother. Why did I even sign up? Now my inbox is going to be flooded with emails I won’t have any use for.

Because, after all, I probably won’t be able to write every day, never mind write that much every day.

1667 words per day for a month.

Some days I do that, sure. But some days I write only 500 words. Or none. And the beauty of my writing experience to date has been that it has been free, liberating, that I’ve been able to write about something different every day. Sometimes several times a day. About whatever I want.

Committing to writing a novel in a month is committing myself to writing almost 2000 words per day about the same topic. Every day. For 30 days.

Yikes.

Not that I want to listen to that little demon on my shoulder, but I have to tell myself that I’m not stuck. No one is going to force me to do it. No one is going to judge me if I don’t. Heck, I don’t even have to submit my word count so maybe no one will ever know whether I did it or not, or how much of it I did.

Except me.

So why am I (sort of) committing myself to this insanity?

Mostly as a push to write the story of my time in Ireland, which I was all gung ho about not even a month ago. In fact, I actually started writing about it way back at the beginning of my blog, it was early August, in my little daydreamy piece, The Writer’s Cottage.

And as the saying goes, “write about what you know.”

Well, I know about my adolescent dreams and expectations for my life in Ireland, and I know how it played out in the end.

It was a huge experience in my life. Transformative.

It would probably be a good thing to write about.

It would probably be good for me to write about it.

Maybe some people will actually read it. And maybe some of those readers will even find it interesting. Perhaps they will find in it some universal truths about life and expectations.

But don’t watch this space. I mean, I may not actually do it.

But if I post here less often in the month of November, you’ll know why. It’ll be because I’m busy writing for NaNoWriMo.

Or maybe I won’t.

You’ll never know.

Unless of course I actually do it. Then, I will tell you all about it.

 

11 thoughts on “Taking the Writing Challenge Concept to a Whole Other Level

  1. Good for you!! that’s great. Sometimes we need a little structure, and this sounds perfect. You can do it. Or not. But if you do, it provides you with some great boundaries and encouragement. I struggle with this often with my writing, always searching for the perfect balance, I don’t want to stress myself out by having rules; but then when you don’t have guidelines, you can get to the point of no performance at all. And with writing? I could use a little more…. Thanks for letting us know about what you are doing–I may check out the NaNoWriMo site…..

    • I’m glad you’re going to check it out. I like having no pressure/focus, other than the daily prompt, but I also know I need some kind of deadline type thing if I’m going to produce anything more. And that I’d like to get to December and look back and have something productive that I never would otherwise have. That’s the thinking anyway 🙂

  2. I have been contemplating this too – have a few days to decide – but I have no topics in mind at all – and I keep telling myself – if you can’t commit to the blog 7 out of 7, then surely this? Laughing uncontrollably. Pros and cons to it all …. and so time will tell.

    Good luck to you and it the experience be everything you expect and/or nothing you expect. Perhaps the key is not to have any expectations of it or yourself at all? To just write in the moment and see what/where/how it happens – a stepping off point instead of the pressures of “a finished product”?

    I muse aloud as I think on this ….

    • I think your musings are spot on! It’s an experiment. I may do nothing for a few days, then a whole pile of something. I don’t know. But I’m going to plan to sit down at the computer and then just see what happens.

      Good luck whatever you decide!

Leave a Reply

