7 for all Mankind?

Khalil Gibran once said that people will never understand one another unless language is reduced to seven words. What would your seven words be?

If language were reduced to 7 words, would we understand each other then?

When one speaks, the speaker understands what one means, but the listener – does the listener understand the nuance and the intentions behind those words?

We build our understanding of what we see and hear on our own individual experiences. We each think differently, feel differently, experience differently.

There would be room for interpretation in each of those seven words, just as there are in the multitudes we currently use.

When I say hello, do to hear me? Am I welcoming you with my greeting? Or is it said absentmindedly? Do I say hello dismissively, meaning instead “goodbye”, or “please walk on by”?

When I say I am happy, what does this mean to you? Is happy fleeting or is it the essence of me?

If I say I am not happy, is this who I am or is it because of something that has happened? Does it mean I am angry or sad or something else? And do I have the words to explain why? Do you have the words to ask?

Are you my friend or are you not? What is a friend in your experience? Does a friend listen, does a friend support? Does a friend laugh when you laugh and hold your hand when you cry? Is a friend always there for you or are you also there for your friends? Do you have a close circle or do you gather them, tally their numbers, to build your esteem?

How do you tell your friends from those who are not? And what is their assessment of you?

If I refer to life, do I mean mine or yours or a universal truth that connects us all? Perhaps I mean my life, but you may think of it as yours; after all, this conversation is happening in your life, too. And aren’t both lives, mine and yours, wrapped up in the wider existence?

Therefore, if I refer to something that is not life do I mean the end of life, or the infinity before life, or is it something that is not alive, something outside of life? Who am I or you to say whether something has life? We are bound to disagree at some point, and then who is right? And how do we know if we don’t have the words to discuss it?

Love has many faces and many uses. I love chocolate, I love people, I love nature and the wind. Do I love you? Do you love me? Is it a balance or a seesaw, a back and forth, a cause and effect? No. My love is different than yours. But that does not mean that one of us does not love. But can we both understand this? Can we continue to love differently and still understand that we each are loved?

want to say hello. I want to have friends, and to be a friend. I want life. I want love.

Want is, I believe, the only of these 7 words that we can both – speaker and listener – understand equally. Without interpretation, without misinterpretation.

I do not want language to be limited.

I want more than 7 words.

  1. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Musical Foodie Love
  2. Seven Words | Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | likereadingontrains
  3. Daily Post: Seven Wonders? | Pen and Pixels
  4. Seven. | Crossroads
  5. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders – I feel, you feel, becomes we feel
  6. Early Grave – Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | smoke&mirrors
  7. summing it up | bodhisattvaintraining
  8. Nostalgia | Nature Activities
  9. Seven words | James Clegg
  10. Seven Wonders of the Word | MC’s Whispers
  11. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | veryvanessalynn
  12. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | The Fountain
  13. Seven | The Magic Black Book
  14. Who Made The Most Sense Khalil Gibran or George Carlin? | The Jittery Goat
  15. Seven Wonders | Relax
  16. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Under the Monkey Tree
  17. My Seven Words | Life Confusions
  18. The Only Seven Words Left In The World | sayanything
  19. Daily post: Seven words. Or alternatively… | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  20. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders « Mama Bear Musings
  21. Daily Prompt: Seven little words for a blustery Monday | Nicki
  22. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Randomize ME
  23. A Poem: Seven Wonders | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  24. Seven Leaves (Daily Prompt) | photo potpourri
  25. SEVEN WORDS THAT MAKE US | crookedeyebrows
  26. Reduction of Languange | mutatiomagistra
  27. 7 | Hope* the happy hugger
  28. Super Seven | thinkerscap
  29. My Apologies to George Carlin | Not a Punk Rocker
  30. Seven Stars | alienorajt
  31. How to order coffee with the (un?)necessary complexity of human language | Rob’s Surf Report
  32. You got me | dawnyhosking
  33. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | robbiesdailyplanet
  34. The Seven Words | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  36. Communication | Rock it classy
  37. Touched by Seven. | Blue Loft
  38. Seven Words… | Haiku By Ku
  39. Words of Wisdom | meanderedwanderings
  40. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Awl and Scribe
  41. In Seven Words.. | That girl with the spectrespecs
  42. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  43. Daily Prompt: Seven Wonders | Of Glass & Paper
  44. Seven Words | Momma Said There’ld Be Days Like This
  45. Daily Prompt: Seven Words | …and she writes
  46. What Is It About The Number Seven? | Just Visiting This Planet
  47. I Recognize the Light in Your Soul…..(daily prompt wp) | Daily Observations

15 thoughts on “7 for all Mankind?

  1. This is a tough challenge and you have offered a lot of things to think about, for me, particularly when you mention friendship and life…..both are ones I question regularly. I’m with you though, not sure about the 7 word theory and would probably need a few more too!

Leave a Reply

