Greater Perspective

IMG_0394

Daily Prompt: Write a story about yourself from the perspective of an object, thing, animal, or another person.

I was never really that important of an object. Not back then, anyway.

I came from what you humans, or at least an elite group of you, refer to as the Third Dynasty of Ur, or Ur III. I say an elite group because I have come to understand that some of you don’t even know that our kingdom existed. Some don’t even understand why it matters. Imagine my shock!

But some, the elite, get it.

My latest owners are among the elite. I’m not sure how I landed in their hands. I mean, I know how, I am of course aware of my own illustrious history. I’m just not sure how I managed to be lucky enough to not only survive this long but to land in the hands of those who know, who have the knowledge of history. Those who can read.

I’m not sure how many of you humans can read these days. Back in Ur, when I was created, only a select few could read, despite the fact that mine were a highly enlightened people. So enlightened in fact that we created writing. Beat that for literary significance!

During my time, government officials were taught to read and write in Sumerian, the language used for our literature and our administrative documents. Yes, we had literature back then! Sumerian wasn’t the only language in our culture, but I was written in Sumerian so I know a bit more about it.

I was created by the administration of the time as a commercial document, a detailed inventory from the centralized textile industry. My cuneiform text recounts to those interested a list of textiles created, warehoused and bartered during a specific time in the year 2046 BCE.

Ah, I see I now have your attention. Yes, that was a long time ago.

I have been around a long time. I have watched the stars traverse the heavens for millenia upon millenia. Admittedly, I missed a lot while I was underground, but I have caught up quite a bit over the past few years, since I was exhumed. I have since travelled far from my beloved home, to a world so new that when I was first created, no one in Ur had even dreamed of its existence.

I finally fell into the hands of the people in whose home I am now housed. Incredible the way things work out. The husband, knowing his wife has a passion for history and an interest particularly in cuneiform and ancient Mesopotamia – I daresay, amazingly dignified and all too rare an interest among you humans – searched me out and bought me as a gift for her.

I have pride of place now at the front of a glass table under a skylight in their library room. A library – how fitting! I like to be under the skylight; it affords me a view of the heavens, night and day. I am joined on this glass table by other historical artifacts. But they stand behind me. I am right at the front for all to see. It is because, I think, lesser antiquities would have crumbled to dust centuries ago.

If I might take the liberty of getting on with my confession, with which I began this communication, I can scarcely believe that I am so revered by these people. They are clearly of noble birth!

For all my airs (yes I even admit I put on airs, but when you are this old, and have survived from the beginning of the written word, you take certain liberties with vanity), I am only a lowly government document. A dime a dozen we were. It’s the same even in your society as I understand it.

It’s not like I’m a piece of one of those famous law codes. You know, Hammurabi‘s laws? No? Well, anyway, we were a very important civilization and not only did we invent writing but we also invented laws, and wrote them down. Hammurabi’s laws came much later, in the 1700s BCE, after I had been created and had lain around for a few centuries. There were other laws written down before Hammurabi, but he has had all the glory. Such is the way of history.

But I digress. I was continuing with my confession about having been originally made for ordinary, every day purposes. I am just a bit moved that, although I am not as historically important as I could be, I am treated with great care and respect by these people.

The lady of the house stops and picks me up sometimes, turning me over in reverence. And this despite the fact that she can’t read cuneiform. Most days, though she may be bustling by with laundry or something to do with the child, she will at least take the time to glance my way. I can see in her eyes she appreciates me, and my place in history. I can sense with all the experience of one so old that she is still in awe to have a piece of ancient history sitting in her house.

She writes a lot and reads a lot, and she values such ancient wonders as the stars and the moon, and nature. No wonder she understands my importance. Clearly, people are still born these days with some of that ancient wisdom.

She’s not wise enough to be able to read cuneiform, mind you, but one can only dream so big when one is a small, broken-off piece of an ancient clay tablet.

More perspectives:

  1. Jumdel…Jubmel… Jumled…DOG here! | alienorajt
  2. Not keeping calm but carrying on – another update on managing thunder phobia | We Live In A Flat
  3. No, my snout… nooooo | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  4. Monopoly Money | Prayers and Promises
  5. What am I to a cat? | The Ambitious Drifter
  6. The feeling of freedom | MC’s Whispers
  7. Daily Prompt: FeeFee, The Cat Says Meow | littlegirlstory
  8. The Cat Says Meow | Geek Ergo Sum
  9. Paco’s Poem on Tuesday: One Known Pleasure. | Janey Macken Street!
  10. Our Daily Escapades | Imagineer @ Work
  11. I think she’s weird. | Crossroads
  12. Oh, he really needs a wife or a keeper « RPMAS
  13. Daily Prompt: The cat says meow | lifebeinggirly
  14. Daily prompt: The cat says meow. | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  15. ••Infinity•• | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  16. My Lover | Tony’s Texts
  17. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | BulgingButtons
  18. I Kinda Like Her | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  19. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Under the Monkey Tree
  20. If My Note Pads Could Speak | The Jittery Goat
  21. Open your eyes and see ME | dawnyhosking
  22. Katydid (Perspective) | photo potpourri
  23. Daily Prompt: Smile and say Bickilits! | Nicki
  24. Jake’s Take on Eilene: Cat Says Meow | Randomness Expressed
  25. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | મન ની વાત
  26. Daily Prompt: Perspective | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  27. Daily Prompt: Jasper, The Dog | The Story of a Guy
  28. The Cat’s Pajamas | Just Visiting This Planet
  29. Daily Prompt: Great Nights, Less Often. | Testimonies of a Liar
  30. The Cat Says | Going New Places!
  31. “Perspective” | Relax
  32. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow- Perspective | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  34. The Cat Says Meow: I am his room | crookedeyebrows
  35. Perception is 9 Tenths of Reality | The Cosmic Carousel
  36. The daily trials of Miu, whom I call Niko. | Rob’s Surf Report
  37. Old companions | Life is great
  38. Chronicles of Yordhu | Neva Samaki
  39. DP: The Cat Says Meow | A Blog’s Life
  40. Danger Zone | Journey Taker
  41. Daily Prompt: The cat says meow | Valley Girl Gone Country
  42. from the tales of an unrested laptop. | EMBRACE YOU
  43. Youth versus Age: Emotional Fitness Tips | Emotional Fitness
  44. Rawr! [Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow] | unknowinglee
  45. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Romelga writes
  46. We Were The Stars | Flowers and Breezes
  47. I AM THE DOG…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  48. Guess who I am! | A mom’s blog
  49. The AWESOME (somewhat overrated) Tale of The Reading Glasses! | Dazed By Illusions
  50. Daily Prompt – the cat says meow | Kate Murray
  51. Through the eyes of the puppy, Carly… | don of all trades
  52. From the memoirs of (The late) Ringo aka Ding aka Mr Boy aka Ringledingleberry, Cat Extraordinaire | thoughtsofrkh
  53. The Cat Says Meow | The Nameless One
  54. Daily Prompt: Perspective on The America’s Cup Race | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  55. Hey, are you awake? It’s 4am! | Pink Bubbly
  56. The Way Bear Sees It | smittenwithhim
  57. A light in the shadows…a love story | Vampire Maman
  58. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow …. OR The Adventures of Carlos and Rocky, The Odd Canine Couple | Photos and writings
  59. HE LIFTS US UP: Why “Secret Angel”? | ChristianBlessings
  60. Looking Up | Conversations
  61. C’mon baby, light my fire | The Otter in my Jotter
  62. Daily Prompt Perspective | reincarnation | | Photography, Pain & Life
  63. Steve Says….
  64. Paws for Thought: Reflections from Pierre Part 2 | Farfetched Friends
  65. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow
  66. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Heron There & Everywhere
  67. The Visiting Virus | alienredqueen
  68. My Laptop Hates Me | Venom’s Blog
  69. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | To Breathe is to Write
  70. Mareship
  71. Daily routine | Everything is bad for you
  72. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Hotel Goddess
  73. Monologue of a ski | 2 times pink
  74. Daily Prompt: Our House | One Starving Activist
  75. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | DREAMS AND ESCAPES
  76. the UNCATEGORISED | Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | the TRASH BASH
  77. What if I was ready for my road trip? | Okay, what if ?
  78. 12. Perspective | The Obsessed List
  79. Daily Prompt: The cat says meow | Making Moreporks
  80. Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Let There be Peace on Earth
  81. Studies & Starbucks – Daily Prompt | Warm Welcomes
  82. Daily Prompt- The cat says meow | Jessica Brown NZ
One thought on “Greater Perspective

Leave a Reply

