The Time is Now, Dear Friends

Daily PromptWrite a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it in a post.

The time is now, dear friends.

Books, friends, psychologists, doctors – everyone in my life has been working very hard over the past thirteen weeks to get me to stop dwelling in the future.

“Be Present” has been the consistent advice imparted to me by those who care.

And slowly, I have been learning how to simply be. Here. Now.

And so, imagine my reaction when I read today’s Daily Prompt asking me to consider what the future holds. Is this a test?

Actually, my mind went blank. I couldn’t think of anything. I sat down several times, typed half-heartedly and then wandered away to read my book. I thought dispiritedly to myself that obviously today I would not be able to write.

“My brain just isn’t in it. Perhaps I didn’t sleep enough,” I thought.

And then the light bulb went off. Or on. Or whatever.

The reason I struggled to write this post is that I am finally managing to live in the present. I don’t want to think about what the future holds. I’m not supposed to know. I will find out when I get there. I wouldn’t want to disrupt the space-time continuum…

The time is now, dear friends. That was the first six word response to today’s prompt that popped immediately into my unblocked mind. I also came up with A stopped clock brings true happiness and The sliver of time hangs suspended. All good stories, all six words, all with the same message.

I have proven to myself repeatedly that imagining the future, and then worrying about it, gets me nowhere. Except stressed.

I’m busy living here instead. Enjoying my writing, being at home puttering, doing things that suit me, when they suit me. Yesterday, for example, was a perfect day, though nothing particularly spectacular happened.

I made it to my favourite yin/yang yoga class, and it was a really really good one. Just enough yang to wake me up, get my heart and muscles going, and get me breathing, forcing me to focus. Just enough yin to stretch and lengthen and relax everything.

Afterwards, I cycled up the road in the beautiful autumn sun, enjoying my post-yoga blissfully relaxed state of mind, to pick up a spiced pumpkin scone and a mocha. I slowly wheeled my bike to a nearby park and sat in the sun enjoying my treat.

It sounds simple enough, but in the past when I biked to work, or home, or anywhere, I was always rushing, cursing the inevitable bits of life that would get in my way and slow me down. More often than not, I would have spilled my drink. But not yesterday.

Along the way home, I pulled over to the side of the road to write down the little bits of inspiration that had come to me as I was biking. Lines and thoughts that I want to remember always seem to come to me when my hands are busy, but I now take the time to pull over and write them down.

When I got home, I started cooking. I used to love cooking but haven’t really done it in a few years. And, those few times I have, it has always been with a sort of manic race-against-the-clock kind of mindset.

Yesterday, I made a beef and fennel stew and a squash soup. No rush. Both were a success. We had the stew for dinner and our son ate everything – including the bits of fennel!

While I cleaned up, taking my time, my husband and son went upstairs to watch Gilligan’s Island on the iPad. Lots of laughter upstairs, as I smiled to myself downstairs.

Finally, I climbed into bed to read before falling asleep beside my husband.

And so, what does my future hold for me?

Well, I don’t know.

Hopefully more of the present.

Some more 6 word stories:

  1. Fried eggs reading USA Today | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Six | The Magic Black Book
  3. Keep calm and carry on – an update on managing thunder phobia | We Live In A Flat
  4. Creative Slumber (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  5. Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Six Amazing Things Before Breakfast | The Ambitious Drifter
  7. i would like another baby please | wannabepoet
  8. The Minute they turned SIX | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  9. Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Imperfectly Perfect
  10. Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other « Mama Bear Musings
  11. She Woke Up Happy | Out Of My Head
  12. Who knows what the future holds? | Okay, what if ?
  13. Deep Sixed | Just Visiting This Planet
  14. I never think of FUTURE | મન ની વાત
  15. Texans Pick 6 | Better Than Reality
  16. Daily Post – Six Words, One Dream | awritersfountain
  17. Do you want to believe? | MC’s Whispers
  18. September Daily Prompt: Multi-Profession Wanna Be | Portofolio Prita
  19. In Six | The Cheese Whines
  20. Just six words? | Life & Times
  21. 171. Six of One… | kevindeisher
  22. Daily Prompt: My future, my half of SIX | littlegirlstory
  23. A six word story? « RPMAS
  24. Count the events | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  25. Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  26. the UNCATEGORISED |Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | the TRASH BASH
  27. Daily Prompt; Six of One, Half a Dozen of Other | terry1954
  28. Life Is What You Make It | Flowers and Breezes
  29. Six of one, half a dozen of the other | Kate Murray
  30. Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of The Other | Random Thoughts Of A Mad Music Fan
  31. Live in the moment | Hope* the happy hugger
  32. Twenty-Six to Sixty-Six in Six Words | Creative Mysteries
  33. Because she’s mine | From Five to Fifty
  34. Because she’s mine | Life is great
  35. The Future Has Already Begun | Virginia Views
  36. Daily Post: It’s a six word story… | dawnyhosking
  37. One Heart, One Loss, One Day | Gray Poet
  38. Beloved Author, 101, Dies in Avalanche | Upstairs Productions
  39. Grampa Ran Over a Garden Hose | Conversations
  40. Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Under the Monkey Tree
  41. Knowingly not Knowing | Experiment No. 1
  42. So many words, so little time | wannabedeenbuddy
  43. My Future in Six Words….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  44. Slippers, Coffee and my First Blog! | Pink Bubbly
  45. Six Words: I’ll happily just keep on blogging | FUNNY…PECULIAR
  46. Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | The Nameless One
  47. I Feel… Tomorrow Will Be Better | On Gorgeousness
  48. Where will we be going next? | A mom’s blog
  49. Short, Sweet, and Simple. The End. | sayanything
  50. 6 WORDS: Intelligently Riding My Emotionally Wild Horse | Extraordinary Living Blogs
  51. DP: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | A Blog’s Life
  52. All Signs Point to Yes | and yadda yadda yadda…i made aliyah
  53. Mountains, Fields, Storms, Rainbows and Stars | Romelga writes

 

6 thoughts on “The Time is Now, Dear Friends

Leave a Reply

