Excitement (2): Clandestine Expectation

Excitement

Noun

2. Something that arouses such a feeling; an exciting incident

I tried to fall asleep, but I watched as the hours ticked by, as the moon made its way across the night sky. The butterflies in my stomach wouldn’t stop their fluttering, and I couldn’t seem to silence my mind.

Hot, I tossed the covers off and turned. Five minutes later, I was cold and pulled them up again. I turned on the light and tried to read. My mind may not have been tired but my eyes were, and my brain was too flighty to concentrate on the story. After reading a page and realizing I had no idea what it had been about, I closed the book and turned off the light again.

Finally, I got up and walked quietly through the halls. I paused in the library under the skylight and looked up into the quiet darkness above. It was a bright sky, lit by an almost-full moon.

I continued down the stairs, through the kitchen and paused at the back door while I unlocked it quietly before slipping out into the cool night to wait. To wait for the shadow that I hoped would come, his form moving from garden to garden, noiselessly sliding through the gates until, once again, we would be face to face.

 

One of two responses to today’s Daily PromptTell us about the last thing you got excited about — butterflies-in-the-stomach, giggling, can’t-wait excited. 

4 thoughts on “Excitement (2): Clandestine Expectation

Leave a Reply

