Daily Prompt: A Useful Creative Writing Tool

Written in response to today’s Daily Prompt: Are writing prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey? Photographers, artists, poets: show us SNEAKY.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/daily-prompt-sneaky-2/

When I began blogging, I felt I had so many stories, so many thoughts exploding in my mind that I needed to write them down, and I wanted to share them. I also wanted to share with others my struggle with stress, how I was coping, and my exploration of where I was in my life and where I needed to go next. Blogging made that possible, even easy.

As I have poured my thoughts and stories out into the WordPress stratosphere, I have been happy to receive comments, followers, encouragement and suggestions. I have been happy to meet others who are writing for similar, or dissimilar, reasons. I have been happy to be able to “meet” wonderful people, whose writing and comments I always look forward to reading.

The Daily Prompts help to connect people, and I have noticed my readership increase as I have begun to post regularly through them. Daily Prompts also help when my brain is feeling tired, and unmotivated.

There are times the Daily Prompt just doesn’t speak to me, and then I go on my merry way and write about other things. And there are times I am so tired or unmotivated, or otherwise occupied, that even the Daily Prompt can’t get me writing.

But most days, I look forward to receiving the prompt. I used to miss it, as I only had it coming through my reader, and with so many other posts it sometimes was lost in the shuffle. But I changed the settings so that it is the only WordPress email I get, and now I know that at about 8 am each day, I will receive a fresh idea to write about. Sometimes, I have the time and the inspiration to sit down and write something right away. Other days, I ruminate on the topic while I go about my other tasks, and only sit down to post before I go to bed.

I have not yet come across an idea that I found to be hokey, and as we all have the freedom to respond as we wish, or to not respond at all, it is certainly not limiting. There is even the option to sneakily write about something that seems completely unrelated, until the last sentence, at which point I sometimes  have an epiphany and realize that I can link my idea back to the prompt.

Creative writing indeed.

Here are some thoughts on the topic from other bloggers:

  1. Picking flowers. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. The party is over | Agrifun.com
  3. Garlic. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Colors Contrast. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Dandelions. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. Leave your bicycle at home | Agrifun.com
  7. The Bell. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Sneaky Questions Require Sneaky Answers | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  9. Daily Prompt: | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Agrifun: From City Slicker to Potato Picker | Bright Moments Catcher
  11. Daily Prompt: Sneaky | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  12. Daily Prompt – A Little Sneaky | Kate Murray
  13. Thoughts on Blogging | We Live In A Flat
  14. You Prompt Me [Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky] | unknowinglee
  15. Daily Prompts; Aren’t Perfect, That’s The Bloggers Job | The Jittery Goat
  16. To prompt or not to prompt, that is the question… | The Rider
  17. Clowns To The Left of Me, Jokers To The Right | JuSt ViSiTiNG THiS PLaNeT…
  18. A Little Sneaky | Geek Ergo Sum
  19. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky « Mama Bear Musings
  20. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. An honest answer from randomness | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  22. Sneaky | A mom’s blog
  23. Nothing wrong with a little nudge in the right direction | thoughtsofrkh
  24. Just a spoonful of prompting can make the writers pen note down, in the most delightful way! | The life of T
  25. sneaky is as sneaky does | wannabepoet
  26. On Prompts & Writing | The Temenos Journal
  27. Rolf Harris: maybe he was tying down more that just his kangaroo | DCMontreal
  28. Sneaky: A Prompt About Prompts | suzie81’s Blog
  29. A Little Sneaky | Shilpa Sharma Online
  30. Sneaky | Hope* the happy hugger
  31. Those Hokey Writing Prompts And Why I Need Them | Bright Tuesday
  32. Daily Prompt – A Little Sneaky | Joe’s Musings
  33. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | Of Glass & Paper
  34. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  35. Daily Prompt: A little sneaky but more than a bit odd | SERENDIPITY
  36. “A Little Sneaky” | Relax
  37. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  38. Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | College Girl Dai
  39. Sleepers, for me, always WAY more fun than flashy or fancy. | Lord Aoshi’s Latest Finds
  40. Delicate Revenge | shame
  41. A Little Sneaky | The Nameless One
  42. How about them Daily Prompts! | Everyday Adventures
8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A Useful Creative Writing Tool

Leave a Reply

